More Monarch “Dream Makers” honored

Quarterly awards recognize high achieving staff agency-wide

Because much of Monarch’s success depends on the quality of service and effectiveness of its employees, officials wanted to ensure the organization’s heartbeat – it’s staff – didn’t go unrecognized. In July 2011, the Dream-Makers Award was established to demonstrate heartfelt recognition to deserving staff members who exhibit a person-centered and person-focused attitude of service.

Current employees, supervisors at every level, volunteers, family members of persons supported may nominate any employee of Monarch for receipt of the distinguished Dream-Maker Award. No self-nominations are accepted. Some eligibility qualifications include: Nominee must be employed by Monarch for at least 90 days, Must have a satisfactory job performance evaluation, HR file should not contain disciplinary actions within 12 months of nomination, and required agency trainings and/or certifications must be current.

Led by Committee Chair Leonard Covington, human resources manager, recipients are selected quarterly by the Monarch Employee Recognition & Appreciation Committee. To date, there have been 52 Dream-Maker Award honorees. Winners receive a plaque, congratulatory and appreciation letters from the Board of Directors and Chief Executive Officer, a $50 Wal-Mart gift card and their name permanently engraved on a replica of the award prominently displayed in the Corporate Office Board Room.

The recent Third Quarter Dream-Marker Award recipients honored were:

Region 1: Mabel Gartrell, behavioral specialist; and Cherie Smith, qualified professional; Region 2: Pat McDonald, operations manager; Kathy Inman, qualified professional; and Donna Skipper, qualified professional; Region 3: Kim Goff, program director; Jermaine Hill, operations manager; and Holly Murphy, operations manager; Region 5: Mary Pratt-Lohoun, developmental specialist; Region 6: Anitras Walston, qualified professional and Region 10: Melissa Griffin, quality management data analyst and Sue Redman, finance budget director.

Recipients of the 2012 Fourth Quarter Dream-Maker Awards, who were honored during Monarch's Annual Awards Dinner, were:

Region 1: Tiffany Haywood,  behavioral specialist; Region 2: Lisa Lisk, administrative assistant; Region 3: Margaret Edwards, developmental specialist; and Taunicos O’Neal, developmental specialist; Region 4:  Shirolyn Little, developmental specialist; and Milton Simmons, developmental specialist; Region 5: Cheryl Barnhill, lead developmental specialist; Region 6:  Dianne Meadows, administrative assistant; and Annie Blount, developmental specialist; Region 7: Barbara Stewart, behavioral tech; and Region 10:  Stacey Burris, finance support specialist; and Sam Cornog, maintenance journeyman.

Administrative Office: 350 Pee Dee Avenue, Suite 101, Albemarle, NC 28001
Phone: (866) 272-7826 | Fax: (704) 982-5279